Earthy….

July 16, 2010

Spinach, Carrot and Apple Juice

 I know, I know, I know.  That looks disgusting.  But I’m going to apply a wine writers trick and call it “earthy with “hints of green tea and sour apple.”   What is it? Well, it’s the rest of my CSA box, that’s what!  I’ve had a large bunch of carrots and a huge bag spinach in my fridge for just too long.  These warm summer days really turn me off to cooked veggies for lunch and dinner, and just can’t do another salad.  “Grrr!”  I said, craming the bag of greens back in the cripser. “What am I gonna do with all this?” 

 “Juice it.”  Said Mr. Oakland Garden Kitchen without looking up from his lap top.  A moment of brilliance. 

 That same day, a friend mentioned her favorite “juice” is spinach, carrot and apple.  Well, lemme tell you, I have spinach and carrots comming out of my ears! And I managed to find 2 organic apples grown in the Etats Unis at the local Lucky’s.  After an “all call” to the neighbors, a dusty never-used juicer emerged from the house accross the street.  I could just feel the vitamins getting ready to juice up my system! (no pun intended…)  

  Earthy Apple Juice  

From Shooting Star CSA :
– 1 large bag of spinach (about 1/2 a lb of large leaves, not baby spinach)
– 15 medium size bright orange carrots
From Lucky’s tiny little organic produce corner:
– 2 red apples 

Instrutions:
Just cram it all through juicer and try not to let the juice or the pulp over flow their tiny containers!  

At first I thought the spinach was just being shredded and producing no juice. But after pushing the first hand full of spinach through, I did a few carrots and out came the frothy green liquid. I kept alternating between spinach, carrots, spinach, carrots and finished it off with the apples.  All in all, it yielded about 30 ounces, or a little less than a liter of concentrated juice. I drank a glass and a half before I stopped to take a picture!  This is all I saved for Mr. OGK.  Sorry hun, it was good!   

It also yeilded about 8 cups of pulp!  This colorful bowl of fluff is headed into a carrot cake for tonight’s pot luck dinner.  Stay tuned for that report.  

Spinach, Carrot and Apple Pulp

One Response to “Earthy….”

  1. Jackie said

    You can also make spicy pickled carrots. That’s what I did with a couple of lbs of the carrots I grew. Easy and good!

Leave a Reply

