Hungry Runners and the Oakland Marathon

March 31, 2010

This weekend was the Inaugural Oakland Running Festival, featuring 5 different races, a huge festival at Ogawa Park and lots and lots of hungry runners. Our apartment was on the race path, so yours truly offered to host the watching AND after party, since Mr. Yours Truly was running the half marathon.

Breakfast was easy with scones and coffee. I thought I was going to have to make a run to Arezmendi for scones, but after a visit to Jackies Secret Garden, I learned how to make scones at home. So easy!! Really, I’m not much of a baker, but these were gone as soon as I put ’em on the table. Click here for the Alice Waters recipe that I followed, using Straus Whipping Cream, whole wheat pastry flour from Whole Foods, and a handfull of pecans (broken into pieces) from Lakeshore Produce.

First bunch of asparagus spears. I later added more to this bag, grilled them, then added more asparagus to the same bag.

The besides the marathon, the second best thing about this weekend was the second week of asparagus season in Watsonville! We scooped up several  bunches of organic asparagus at the Jack London Square Farmers Market the week before. The night before the race, I put them in a large zip lock bag with the juice of one lemon, a table spoon of salt, a table spoon of pepper and enough olive oil to coat all the spears. I zipped the bag shut, shook ’em up enough to get them evenly coated, and put them in the fridge. Becasue I was hosting breakfast AND lunch AND needed to get away to watch the finish line, I needed REALLY quick and REALLY easy on Sunday.

The next thing I prepped ahead was potatoes. I boiled 8 large russet potatoes on Saturday night and then put them in the fridge to cool over night. When I woke up the next morning the were nice and firm and easy to cut. I cut them into bite size cubes for potato salad:

Grandma’s Potato Salad:
8 russet potatoes, boiled and cooled overnight (Any farmers market in Oakland should have russet potatoes now)
5 green onions, diced to make scallions (these are really easy to grow!)
1/2 a cup of mayo (didn’t have enough eggs to make my own, so I used Spectrum Organic Mayo from Farmer Joes)
1/4 cup of spicy mustard (Sierra Nevada is the closest brand I’ve found to ‘local’)
1/4 cup of white pepper vinegar (I keep a jar of white vinegar with several little green chiles to spice it up)
1 tblspoon dried dill

Cube the cold potatoes, place in a bowl and add the scallions. Leave the skins on, that’s where all the nutrients are. If you don’t like too much

White pepper vinegar

 onion, leave off a few of the onion heads and just grill them. I promise, someone will eat them! In a separate bowl, mix “dressing” ingredients. Pour over potatoes and mix will with a spatula. With this amount, I needed to use two bowls for mixing, then I could combine them in a serving bowl.
Other great things my grandmother used to add (but that I didn’t have) are boiled eggs, chopped
green olives, chopped
pickled artichoke hearts, chopped
picked beats, chopped

Sorry I didn’t take a picture, it was so popular it went faster than I could get the camera!

Our guests brought enough other treats to fill the grill several rounds.  There were nopalitos, thin sliced zucchini, mushrooms, bell peppers, onions of all size and of course, sausage (chicken, kilbasa, lamb and port from Farmer Joe’s).  The biggest miracle is how much was eaten before 5pm! 

One Response to “Hungry Runners and the Oakland Marathon”

  1. Jackie said

    Glad the scones were a success!

Leave a Reply

