Funk Town Eggs and Not Quite Mayo

November 9, 2009

FunkTownEgg

Juevona's Egg

MY CHICKEN LAID AN EGG!!!

Ok, perhaps it wasn’t MY chicken, but one of our 12 chickens at Funk Town Farm has taking to playing Easter Bunny once a day in her straw lined plastic crate.  How excited I was to see this little guy sitting, lonely and forgotten, in the coop.  I felt a bit like a theif, but our chickens don’t have a rooster or the motivation to make baby chicks, so I tucked it in my pocket slipped out the coop while the girls pecked at the pumpkin and watermelon seeds I had brought them.

IMG_1018

Butternut Squash Souffle

Then I went home and decided to do something uniquely eggy with my egg.  I would make farm fresh mayonnaise!  I’ve tried once before, but it didn’t thicken like one would hope, so I blamed it on the stale grocery store eggs.  This time, I found a recipe which called for 3 eggs.  I waited two more days, and cracked my three eggs into a bowl, separated the yolk, and stuck the hand blending (like the recipe said) in the tall container it came with.  Then, ever so carefully, I added canola oil.  I blended and blended till the wand nearly over headed.  Another, beautiful egg soup.  This recipe specifically said not to add anything to the mixture until it was thick, so my soup was neither salty or sweet.  I happened to be roasting butter nut squash, so I added the baked squash to the cup, blended to baby food, added brown sugar and cinnamon and poured the mayo-made-souffle into the 3 white ramekins.  I baked them around 350 degrees until the tops were brown.  Maybe mayo next week.

On a side note, the souffle was great, we ate one that night, and then a few nights later we cooked the other two (which had been in the fridge) with a dollop of caro syrup and a few raisins on top.  Think candied yams.

I attempted a second time, by hand, with only two egg yolks, and adding the salt and spice (I used rosemary) first, according to a different recipe.  I beat and beat and beat the yolk and added the oil one drop at a time and I still got soup.  Not lumpy soup (I had to have some pride) but soup.  This time, we blended it back in with the white and made an omelet.

Finally, I talked to a colleague who casually mentioned that he beats one egg till it the yolk thickens, then adds a drop of lemon juice and starts adding oil one drop at a time.

What, the yolk thickens by itself?! I had no idea!  lightbulb.

IMG_1024

A Dollop of Homemade Mayonnaise

Another farm egg was cracked, separated, and the yolk was beaten and beaten past the point of the last attempt, switching arms to keep the right one from falling off.  Yup, it thickened.  I added more oil slowly, and more lemon juice, and a little salt, and eventually, I made a lovely white creamy mayonnaise.  Worthy of steak frites!

As this is raw egg, I prefer to do just the one yolk and whip about enough for a few sandwiches.  It shouldn’t be kept for more than a few days.

Here are a few mayo resources that I found useful.  Just remember, thick yolk, slow on the oil.

ABOUT.COM – 1 egg.  This is most similar to what I did.

The hand blender method (this didn’t work for me, but I can’t argue with the video!):

Leave a Reply

